Patient entered forms

Patient entered forms are forms which can be self-completed by the patient. See the specification page to see if this feature is enabled and information on email templates and information shown to patients when logging in.

Inviting patients

Patients must be invited to complete their forms for a particular visit. To do this the patient must be selected from the patient list and the Invite patient to complete forms for this visit link used. The “Patient invitation summary” section shows if the patient has been invited previously. Links to invite patients will only be displayed when the visit is due. In some cases sending out invitations to complete forms for follow-up visits is automated - see the specification page for details.

Viewing a patient record with invitation to complete baseline forms

Viewing a patient record with invitation to complete baseline forms

The form to invite the patient requires the patient name and their personal email address. These fields will be pre-populated on second and subsequent invites. An invitation will be sent to the email address provided containing a unique URL that the patient must visit within 30 days to complete the forms. The patient will also require a password that you have agreed with them in advance.

Sending an invitation to complete baseline forms to a patient

Sending an invitation to complete baseline forms to a patient

What the patient sees

Once a patient goes to the URL in their email invitation and enters the correct password they will see a list of forms to complete. Clicking on the name of the form takes them to that form where they can complete their answers. Unlike data entry of forms by investigator and administrator accounts, patients cannot override the validation checks on fields. They also will not see the review step - once they press the save button the form is saved immediately and cannot be viewed or edited by the patient. Entered forms are shown as completed in the list of forms.

List of forms as seen by the patient

List of forms as seen by the patient

The patient can return to complete the forms at any time until the unique link in their email expires. Once all the forms are completed a thank you message is displayed.

Page updated 29 Oct 2014