Patients

Patient records can be viewed by clicking on the Patients link in the the left-hand sidebar. This shows a list of all patients entered into the study to date. An amber question mark in the status column of the patient listing indicates that there is an open query for that patient.

Viewing an individual patient record

Viewing an individual patient record

Adding patients

New patients may be added to the list at any time by clicking on the Add a patient link in the left-hand sidebar. This opens the study entry form which requests a patient identifier and date of study entry. Note that at least one site contact must be created before any patients can be added.

Some trials may be configured such that patients are randomised into the trial. If this is the case case you can add a patient by clicking the Randomise link in the left-hand sidebar. Check the specification page to see if this is the case.

Deleting patients

Patients may be deleted by administrative users providing the delete patient setting is enabled. A delete patient option is shown in the ‘Patient details’ section. The user will be asked to confirm they wish to go ahead. Deleting the patient will also delete all associated forms and queries. This cannot be undone so administrators should think carefully before deleting.

Searching

The search box filters the patient list to match the entered terms. Note that form data is not searched.

Patient details

Clicking on a patient in the list shows patient details from the study entry form, any queries and provides links to add, view and edit the forms for that patient grouped by visit.

Schedule

For visits at specific timepoints (for instance 30 days after study entry) the due date is shown. Overdue forms are highlighted in red. If the Withdrawal form has been completed and the patient marked as withdrawn from follow-up, then any forms due after the date of withdrawal are shown as not applicable (N/A).

Missing forms

Sometimes forms within a visit are not available because, for instance, the patient did not attend a follow-up appointment, the data was not collected or was lost. Forms within visits can be marked as missing using the Mark as data missing links. Marking the data as missing in this way causes all uncompleted forms in the visit to become inaccessible and they will not be shown as overdue. Forms that were completed before a visit was marked as missing will remain accessible and may be viewed and edited in the normal way.

A follow-up visit marked as missing

A follow-up visit marked as missing

Patient-entered forms

A link may be displayed to invite the patient to self-complete the forms in a visit if patient entered forms are enabled.

Form status

A green tick next to a form name indicates that it has been marked as validated. An amber question mark symbol next to a form name indicates that the form has an open query.

Page updated 29 Oct 2014