Patient records can be viewed by clicking on the Patients link in the the left-hand sidebar. This shows a list of all patients entered into the study to date. An amber question mark in the status column of the patient listing indicates that there is an open query for that patient.
New patients may be added to the list at any time by clicking on the Add a patient link in the left-hand sidebar. This opens the study entry form which requests a patient identifier and date of study entry. Note that at least one site contact must be created before any patients can be added.
Some trials may be configured such that patients are randomised into the trial. If this is the case case you can add a patient by clicking the Randomise link in the left-hand sidebar. Check the specification page to see if this is the case.
Patients may be deleted by administrative users providing the delete patient setting is enabled. A delete patient option is shown in the ‘Patient details’ section. The user will be asked to confirm they wish to go ahead. Deleting the patient will also delete all associated forms and queries. This cannot be undone so administrators should think carefully before deleting.
The search box filters the patient list to match the entered terms. Note that form data is not searched.
For visits at specific timepoints (for instance 30 days after study entry) the due date is shown. Overdue forms are highlighted in red. If the Withdrawal form has been completed and the patient marked as withdrawn from follow-up, then any visits due after the date of withdrawal will not be shown as overdue. All uncompleted forms in these visits will become inaccessible. Forms that were completed before the patient was marked as withdrawn will remain accessible and may be viewed and edited in the normal way.
Sometimes forms within a visit are not available because, for instance, the patient did not attend a follow-up appointment, the data was not collected or was lost. Forms within visits can be marked as missing using the Mark as data missing links. Marking the data as missing in this way causes all uncompleted forms in the visit to become inaccessible and they will not be shown as overdue. Forms that were completed before a visit was marked as missing will remain accessible and may be viewed and edited in the normal way.
A link may be displayed to invite the patient to self-complete the forms in a visit if patient entered forms are enabled.
A green tick next to a form name indicates that it has been marked as validated. An amber question mark symbol next to a form name indicates that the form has an open query.